Zenyatta Wins 2010 Horse Of The Year At Eclipse Awards

Racing News
Posted 01.17.11 at 6:44

2010 Horse of the Year, Zenyatta

INGLEWOOD, Calif. (January 17, 2010)—The third time proved to be the charm for Zenyatta as the brilliant mare was voted Horse of the Year for 2010. Owners Jerry and Ann Moss accepted the honor at the annual Eclipse Awards Monday night in Miami.

The runner-up in both 2008 and 2009, Zenyatta outpolled Breeders’ Cup Classic winner Blame and three-time Breeders’ Cup Mile winner Goldikova for the title. The 6-year-old Street Cry mare, who was based at Hollywood Park throughout her career, won 19 of 20 starts and earned more than $7.3 million, a record for a female thoroughbred.

The only three time winner of the Vanity Handicap, Zenyatta suffered her only defeat in her final start when she was beaten by a nose when attempting to defend her title in the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

Trained by John Shirreffs and ridden for the vast majority of her career by Hall of Fame jockey Mike Smith, Zenyatta, who won eight times in all at Hollywood Park, also was selected older female for the third consecutive year.

Other winners had a Hollywood Park connection. Lookin At Lucky, who earned his biggest victory as a juvenile in the CashCall Futurity in December, 2009, was voted 3-year-old male.

Blind Luck, whose impressive 2010 campaign was preceded by a dominant victory in the Hollywood Starlet in her final race as a 2-year-old, was selected 3-year-old filly.


May 2012

Media Guide

2012 Spring/Summer Media Guide

    Category Archives